They Ruined Lucifer (Part One)

And now, for something completely different…

In 2017, I discovered Lucifer. I’d known about the existence of the comics, but I’d never read them. Then a friend of mine recommended the TV show. Needing something to watch, I binged the first two seasons just before the third season started.

On September 14, 2017, I posted this to Facebook:

I really am loving "Lucifer." I hope they don't ruin it. But they probably will. They ruin all the TV shows. Friggin' Hollywood.

Then Season 3 started, and… meh. It was uneven, at best. It ended with Chloe seeing Lucifer’s devil face, and then, it was canceled. I was actively upset. I loved the actors and the characters they played. I joined a few fan groups on Facebook. We bombarded Netflix with tweets, and Netflix picked it up for Season 4. Hooray!

After more than one year of waiting, the 10-episode Season 4 dropped.

And it was horrible.

The characters were completely wrong. The writing contradicted plot points that had been made in the first three seasons. The actors did a great job with the crap they were given, but I was so disappointed. Season 5 was supposed to be the last season. Part way through filming, Netflix announced that there would be a Season 6 as well.

Season 5 dropped in two, eight-episode halves. And you know what? The first half – Season 5a – gave me hope. Sure, Michael’s plan seemed half-assed, but Chloe and Lucifer got to be together. Finally!

Thanks to COVID, It took what seemed like forever for Season 5b to drop.

And it was horrible too.

Again with the out of character characters. Dad wasn’t anything like what he was supposed to be. Since when did Amenadiel not want to be God? I mean, at least it ended happy, I guess.

I’m the moderator of a Lucifer Facebook group, and I like the other ladies who are also mods. If that weren’t the case, I don’t think I would have watched Season 6.

Season 6 made Season 4 look good.

Oh look! Amenadiel really did want to be God after all! And of course, Lucifer had to stay in Hell for thousands of years while Chloe raised their daughter, causing all of them all kinds of pain. It was a slap in the face to the fans.

So I can have proper closure, I need to give Lucifer the Gilmore Girls and Hunger Games treatment.

I need to rewrite the last three seasons of Lucifer.

6 thoughts on “They Ruined Lucifer (Part One)

  1. I’ve never even heard of it. I just finished my favorite TV show last night. It’s Belgian, Professor T, NOT to be confused with the horrible British Professor T. I have never seen a show end so spectacularly. I can’t even be sad it’s over because it’s like the perfect ending to a good book.

  2. Ugh, yes to all of it. It was a delightful little show until Netflix got a hold of it. That musical episode was nothing short of tragic. Hope and I loved the show but it’s been a struggle to watch this last season. Just awful.

    • Right?!? Netflix “saves” the show, but at what cost? Sometimes, I think it just should have ended with Season 3. Maybe we could have gotten a movie in a couple of years, à la ” Veronica Mars.”

Tell me what you think