Dear Adoption, Let’s Talk About 8 Million Children Living in Orphanages and Silo’d Thinking

I don’t usually reblog posts, but this one is very much worth reading.

unnamed-2

Dear Adoption, Let’s Talk About 8 Million Children Living in Orphanages and Silo’d Thinking

Did you know the globe is at a tipping point for the care of over 8 million children living in orphanages? Did you know that brilliant people from around the world are working to make sure institutions are a last resort for children and families a first?

I’ll share more about that in a moment. First, here’s some context…

I’m Ian Anand Forber Pratt. I am a mix of Indian and American. I work in the space of foster care and adoption every day. Sometimes I take it for granted. I forget the profoundness of families and children finding each other. I sometimes feel angry at the trials and tribulations many adoptees face; other times I rejoice with adoption stories of triumph and belonging. But today, I am shocked to know that here in India over 20 million children are missing one…

View original post 805 more words

Tell me what you think

