Pieces I’m Proud Of

I’m very excited about my latest piece for adoption.com:

Red Flags Expectant Parents Should Watch for in Prospective Adoptive Parents

Every major blog has probably posted the opposite piece: Red Flags Adoptive Parents Should Look for in Birthmothers. My piece came about because of a discussion in the Creating a Family Facebook group. The birthmothers in the group noted that there was nothing for them in terms of guidelines when choosing adoptive parents. I reached out to some birthmothers on social media. Not only did I come up with the Red Flags piece, I had enough material for another piece:

Questions Expectant Parents Should Ask Prospective Adoptive Parents

If you’re a part of the adoption community, I would love for you to share. I don’t think this information exists for expectant parents. Even if people hate my articles, perhaps they would write blog articles that fix what they see wrong, and then there would be even more information out there for women and men who are considering placing their children for adoption.

In addition to these pieces, I wrote a few more…

My Son is Tamir Rice

I wrote a personal piece, in a somewhat rambling way, after the Michael Brown verdict came down. This is a much more focused article, that I think really expresses the fear I feel. I really have to figure out how to DO something about that.

7 Good Reasons to Adopt Through an Agency Instead of Independently

The subtitle on this one is “Please — learn from my mistakes!” Indeed, please do. If you’ve read my blog for any amount of time, you know the story. But, just in case you don’t:

(I really need to finish that Adoption Land theme.)

Mistakes Demotivator

Do Babies Make Great Christmas Gifts?

This piece was in response to a “viral video” of a family putting a newborn baby whom they’re adopting under their tree and telling their daughters that said baby is their Christmas present. Mom is a fairly well-followed “Mommy Blogger”* and posted it, had offers from media outlets to share on TV news… It was big. But there was also a huge backlash. Much of said backlash was from adoptees, who found it problematic (at best) to refer to humans as gifts. I agree with them.

Of course, some people may say I’m a hypocrite, if they look back and find this:

Cassie and Her Gifts Under the Tree

To be clear: Every Christmas, I take a picture of each of the children surrounded by their open gifts. I used to use them as pictures on the Thank You cards. On Cassie’s first Christmas, I took the pictures in front of the tree. But, because she’s 2-months old, she appears to be under the tree. She’s not a gift. She just got gifts and was too little to pose any other way. Furthermore, I didn’t tell Jackson he got a baby for Christmas.

And that’s December and January at adoption.com. Phew!

Oh, and my 7 Reforms I’d Like to See in Private Domestic Adoption was #5 for its time period. Not bad, but not #1, which would have been awesome. Adoption reform is a very important topic, and I’d love to do more pieces on it. I need to get the numbers, people!

* I do not find the term “Mommy Blogger” derogatory. I’m sorry if you do. 

One thought on “Pieces I’m Proud Of

Tell me what you think

