Changes

Vaccines Pro-ChoiceThe SB277 referendum did not make the November 2016 ballot. That means that SB277 will be implemented by July 2016. Cassie cannot go to Transitional Kindergarten. We thought about keeping her in preschool for another year, but there are two problems with that:

  • We don’t want her to stay in preschool for another year. We think she’ll be ready for TK, or even Kindergarten, by next fall.
  • There’s no guarantee that the law suits that are sure to occur will convince a judge to stay the law in time for her to go to Kindergarten.

If we want our daughter to go to school, we cannot stay in California. We will be moving to New Hampshire next summer.

Why New Hampshire? Max and I lived there from 1998 through 2004. We still have a lot of friends in the area, including Jackson’s godparents, who are willing to let us stay with them while we find a place to live. Max and I do not make friends easily, so moving to a random state was never an option. Ideally, Max would like to move back to Pittsburgh, but I’m not comfortable with race relations there. I understand that NH is one of the least diverse states in America, but we will just have to find and promote diversity while we’re there.

From people on the anti-SB277 groups, I get a lot of “why don’t you just homeschool?” Perhaps the biggest reason is this: We don’t want to. We do not think it is the best course of action for our children. I’m not against homeschooling as a concept. However, homeschooling is not for every parent and child. Furthermore, both Max and I work full time – we both have to work full time to afford living in the Bay Area. Homeschooling and working full time are not compatible.

I wish I could keep Jackson in his language immersion program, and I wish we could send Cassie there as well. I like where we live. We have friends here – although one of the two families may be moving thanks to SB277 as well. We’re trying to convince them to go to NH too. Max is happy to be moving back East. To him, California has never felt like home. It feels like home to me, though, and I’m really going to miss it.

The title of this blog post is “Changes” – plural. As of Friday, November 6, I will no longer be a contractor for Not Bank of America. Although they would have extended my contract, they would not hire me, because I live in California. (It’s expensive to maintain employees here.) For quite some time, I believed my contract would expire, and I would need to find a new job. I applied to one that sounded ideal to me. I loved the job description itself. I applied. I got a phone interview. I thought I tanked it. I really thought I wasn’t giving the interviewer the answers he wanted to hear. Yet, I was called to go into The City for in person interviews.

I went. They really seemed to like me. One week later, I got the verbal offer. I had to tell them that Max and I had decided to move to NH during that week. Somehow, that was OK with them. One week after that, the signatures were obtained. I’m set to start on November 16. I am crazy excited, but I’m also concerned that I won’t live up to their expectations. There’s one other writer there, who is new to tech writing, but he’s been at the company for just over a year. It will be tricky to navigate that relationship.

Oh, in the meanwhile, Max and I celebrated 20 years of being together. October 16, 1995 was our first kiss, so, 20 years. I should probably write a blog post just about that.

Yes, changes are afoot. Like Red Ridinghood, I’m excited, but scared. I’m angry that I’m being forced to leave my home state to find medical freedom. I’m angry that I’m leaving good friends behind. I do look forward to returning to the good friends we’ve had in NH. I’m not looking forward to next winter. I’ve got so many conflicting emotions. I’m living in interesting times, I guess.

16 thoughts on “Changes

  1. I don’t agree with your stance on vaccines (and this is an understatement), but you certainly are committed to it! I guess you think it’s better for your kids to be uprooted to the other side of the country (where btw there is nearly zero ethnic diversity*) than to be vaccinated … or you simply want to be a conscientious objector (and that, too, is more important to you than stability.

    That said, New England is beautiful.

    • – My children’s health is of utmost importance. Diversity is not as important as my children’s health.
      – Vaccines are not worth the risks to my children’s health.
      – We have stability as a family unit. We’re moving to a place where we have many friends and some family members. We’ll also be closer to Max’s family. Your comment about lacking stability is incorrect.

      You seem to be under the impression that we choose not to vaccinate simply because we don’t want to. That is not at all the case. Vaccines harm more than they help, for so many reasons. Furthermore, while I’m not a member of any specific religion, I am confident in my belief that God does not want us to inject our children with aborted fetal tissue, genetic material from other animals, aluminum, and so many other dangerous chemicals. I’m pretty sure if Jesus were around today, he wouldn’t be “pro-vax.” At least, not the way it’s practiced now.

      • I am not gonna argue your position point by point (a quick Google search would quickly dispel all of the myths you post), but I definitely better understand your motivation here. For whatever reason (that I will never understand) you (and presumably your husband?) have a narrative about disease, science, immunity, public health, and even risk vs. benefit that simply differs (greatly) from what would be considered conventional wisdom, and then make your decisions accordingly.

        So I can understand why — if you truly believe you are going to damage your children* — you would go to great lengths (literally 3,000 miles) to avoid it.

        They’ll probably be OK, physically — they’re fortunate to live in a wealthy country with high vaccination rates and good health care, should they be part of one of these newfangled measles outbreaks. I do wonder, though, what is going to happen to your kids if, for example, they want to go to college as adults? I am sure, for example, they wouldn’t be allowed in over at CMU …

        * and also inject them with fetal tissue — total garbage, btw, completely refuted by any mainstream source

        • OK, I googled the college thing … CMU will let them in if they go ahead and get vaccinated then. Good to know that your choices now won’t harm them later (at least where their educations are concerned).

        • I don’t see why you keep saying that fetal tissue isn’t in vaccines, when it is listed as an ingredient on the package inserts that the vaccine manufacturers provide.

        • A quick Google search would also help me dispel all the myths you use to try to convince me that what I know to be true are myths.

          Most colleges and universities accept vaccine exemptions, they simply don’t advertise that they do. I know CMU did in 1993. I don’t imagine that my children will ever want to be vaccinated. Jackson already knows the dangers of vaccines, and we’re now explaining to Cassie why we don’t get shots. I have no intention of allowing them to be vaccinated at any time in their childhood or adolescence, but, again, I don’t think that’s going to be a big problem for them.

          • Eh, you get all your “information” from people like yourself, which just strengthens your belief. This is, as I am sure you know, a phenomenon called confirmation bias.

            You believe this stuff with such zeal. So yeah, you can raise your kids to believe the misinformation you believe. But lots of kids grow up and reject the religion of their parents.

      • Also …. I wonder what is more common: A person who is vaccinated (let’s say me, probably you and your husband, my parents, my kid, pretty much everyone I know, etc.) being harmed by vaccines, or an adopted child of color raised in a nearly all-white community growing up with identity issues?

        • I can tell you flat out that neither my husband nor I are have been vaccinated with all of the crap that today’s children are expected to handle.

          I can also tell you that there are far more deaths related to vaccines than there are related to growing up a person of color in a white community. There are more than 5,000 deaths reported in VAERS, and only 1% of reactions are even reported. Thus, even if not all 5,000 deaths were related to vaccines, there is still the problem that not all of the deaths were reported in the first place.

          Not that you asked, btw, but we are hoping to put our kids in a private school in NH that is 40% non-white. Because it’s NH, we can afford better schooling there than we can here. We can be committed to our children’s physical health as well as their psychological health. California has made it next to impossible to ensure their physical health. We can ensure their physical health in NH, and living in NH, we still have the tools and abilities to ensure their psychological health.

  2. Wow, MaLa. It seems you have a strong opinion about vaccines. Why don’t you keep them to your own blog? I didn’t see anything Robin wrote that shoves her opinion down your throat. She obviously has done her research and has her reasons for not vaccinating her family. It should be a choice. That’s what everything else in this country is based on. Choices. And she is allowed to make hers. Which she has done respectfully and with consideration for her family. Just like you are allowed to make your choices for yourself and your family.

    That all said, it’s really a low blow to bring race into a debate about vaccines. How is that even relevant? Perhaps you can go find someone else to bully?

    • I have conventional opinions about vaccines — they save lives.

      If Robyn didn’t welcome discussion, she wouldn’t allow for comments, And if she feels I am mistreating her in some way, I’m sure she’d let me know.

Tell me what you think

