The Way We Were

Kathleen M.N. ObituaryMy mom died on May 21, 2009. My dad wanted me to sing at her funeral. My sister and I ended up cantoring the Mass, but I sang a solo during Communion. My mom was a huge Barbra Streisand fan, so I had to sing something of hers. I knew two songs – “Memory” and “People.” The former was one of my favorite Broadway songs. The latter, I sang in a musical revue in New Hampshire. But, I didn’t think either of those were appropriate. I asked my LiveJournal friends for suggestions. Someone – maybe Duncan or Tesse – brought up, “The Way We Were.”

I found it online and listened. I decided that was the song. My Aunt Sue (Mom’s youngest sister) did not initially think it was a good fit, then she found the lyrics online (as I had done) and started reading them. She changed her mind.

“The Way We Were”

Mem’ries,
Light the corners of my mind
Misty water-colored memories
Of the way we were
Scattered pictures,
Of the smiles we left behind
Smiles we gave to one another
For the way we were
Can it be that it was all so simple then?
Or has time re-written every line?
If we had the chance to do it all again
Tell me, would we? Could we?
Mem’ries, may be beautiful and yet
What’s too painful to remember
We simply choose to forget
So it’s the laughter
We will remember
Whenever we remember…
The way we were…
The way we were…
It’s actually perfect.
Especially “What’s too painful to remember, we simply choose to forget. So it’s the laughter we will remember, whenever we remember the way we were.”
I’ve written before that I don’t believe my mom was a good mom, but that she did her best. When I think of her, of my childhood, the good memories do seem to arrive before the bad, just on their own. The way she’d drive crazy down our street. How she did yard duty at school, and all the kids loved her. Her own love of Disney, especially the classic characters and Tinker Bell. Playing board games and cards.
No matter what, I loved her – love her – very much. And I miss her.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Way We Were

  1. Robyn, this is a really lovely honest tribute to your mom. I’m going to follow you from this blog because Marisha and I are going on “hiatus” over at Don’t We Look Alike.
    Luanne

Tell me what you think

