Boy Scouts

Max is an Eagle Scout. Therefore, Jackson is a Cub Scout. He is in his second year, so he’s a Wolf.

I have very mixed feelings about this.

In January 2014, the Boy Scouts of America decided to allow gay members. However, leaders cannot be openly gay.

We wouldn’t even use an adoption agency that discriminated on the basis of sexual orientation.

I do like some of what Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts offer. In no particular order: camping, learning about the community, first aid, knot tying, community service, camping, the Pinewood Derby, the philosophy of leaving the world a little better than you found it, and camping. I was a Girl Scout, and I really hated that, but I always thought it would be cool to be a Boy Scout. They seemed to have so many better activities than we did.

But I really dislike the religious aspect of Boy Scouts, and I cannot abide their policy on homosexuality.

Max handles all of the Cub Scout activities. I handle almost all of the 4-H activities. (Max does the rabbit shows with Jackson because rabbit shows take place ridiculously early in the morning and always involve at least an hour of driving, which I cannot do.)

I will say, my son looks really cute in his Cub Scout uniform.

I guess you could call me an Ambivalent Cub Scout Mom.

Jackson gets his Wolf neckercheif

Jackson gets his Wolf neckercheif

Cub Scouts marching in the July 4th parade

Marching in the July 4th parade

 

2 thoughts on “Boy Scouts

  1. McRuger is also an Eagle Scout. So are most of the men in his family. To say it’s a family tradition is an understatement. They take scouting very seriously. So, the fact that our future son was going to be in the Scouts, was never something that was even questioned….

    Then Cadet came along and I started voicing my concerns. Because I feel the same way you do. It’s an on-going conversation in our relationship. Sigh….

    • I think that, ultimately, BSA will have to allow openly gay leaders. It’s just a matter of when. However, it’s the entire attitude now…
      4-H actively includes all people, regardless of sexual orientation. 🙂

Tell me what you think

