Listening

I have posts about Cassie’s Adoption Day and Jackson’s 8th Birthday to do this week, but I thought I’d start the week off with a quote:

“Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.” ~ Stephen R. Covey

I submit that  many people read this way too. I know I do sometimes. I’ll read an article or a blog post and see only that to which I want to respond. I won’t necessarily pay attention to the point the writer is trying to make.

My manager at Oracle once said, “You really like to be right, don’t you?” I said, “Of course I like to be right. Who likes to be wrong?” I realized that she meant I had this great drive to know the answer and be RIGHT.

I think that sentiment dovetails into this quote quite nicely. We need to listen to one another more, not with the intent of forming a reply, but with the intent of understanding what the person is saying.

6 thoughts on “Listening

  1. I’d like to say that I am indeed always right… oh wait, I missed the point didn’t I?

    Good post! I will have to watch myself more often in this. I know I listen to reply.

  2. I hadn’t read this quote, though I’m fond of quoting his “Seek first to understand; then to be understood” (adapted from St Francis).

    Also this question: Would you rather be right…or happy?

Tell me what you think

