A Post That’s Been Making the Rounds

This week, I saw this post from Offbeat Families posted on three different Facebook pages/timelines. The strange thing is, it’s from two years ago. Here’s a teaser:

After reading through all the comments [on a pic the author posted of their brown daughters] and thinking about it for a while I realized that I live in a very adoption-friendly and adoption-aware part of the internet. And that the language I use and certain things about adoption I take for granted are not common knowledge. … So here are some things that I wish more people were aware of about adoption.

  • Nobody is “lucky” to be adopted.
  • Anybody would be lucky to adopt.
  • Adoption is complicated.
Tell me what you think

