I’M ONE OF THE BAD GUYS

I’ve wanted to say something just like this so many times, but whenever I write it, it comes out pissed off. Luanne did a great job of expressing herself (and me) without the crazy ranting. What I’m trying to say is, “What she said.”

Don't We Look Alike?

by Luanne

The more I’ve learned about the world of adoption, the more I feel myself (an adoptive mother) an advocate for adoptee rights. I’ve become more aware of the situation of birth parents and, I hope, more sensitive to them, as well. Much of my time reading blogs and articles and sharing this information is related to adoptee issues.

But today I want to write about something else.

With the wonderful new movements pressing for adoptee rights, it does sometimes feel that with the shifting viewpoints, I am seeing a growing wave which demonizes adoptive parents in general. The articles about “re-homing” have reinforced this trend.

While there are bad people in every group, all adoptive parents are not bad people or bad parents. Many of our adoption laws and institutions are fraught with injustices and callous disregard for the children and for birth parents. Too many are interested…

View original post 253 more words

Tell me what you think

