Names

To make a long story short, Cassie found the notebook that I used to keep random notes in 2005. It includes lists of boys and girls names that I liked. I thought I’d share them here because it amuses me to do so.

Crossed out names are names that Max vetoed. Names in parentheses were considered as middle names only.

Boys Names

  • Adam
  • Addison
  • Alexander
  • Adrian
  • Avery
  • Blake
  • Christopher
  • Clark
  • Colin
  • Cameron
  • Damyan
  • Demyan
  • Devlin
  • Dominic
  • Donovan
  • Flynn
  • Gabriel
  • Grant
  • Gray
  • Grayson
  • Harrison
  • Jack
  • Jordan
  • Julian
  • Justin/Justyn
  • Kane
  • Kellen
  • Kent
  • (Lee)
  • Leo
  • Lucian/Lucien
  • Luke
  • Marc
  • Mason
  • Max
  • Park
  • Perry
  • Pierce
  • Quillan
  • Quin/Quinn
  • Rhett
  • Reed
  • (Robert)
  • (Robertson)
  • Ryan
  • Sam
  • Stefan
  • Taylor
  • Todd
  • Travis
  • Troy
  • Will

If, somehow, we ever found ourselves in a position to have another boy who we could name, I’d like to name him Kellen Robert. Kellen after our dear friend Kellie and Robert after Max, myself, and my dad.

Girls Names

Max never saw the girls list, apparently, because none of those names were vetoed.

  • Adara
  • Alexandra (to be called “Xan” not “Alex”)
  • Alexa
  • Alina
  • Amara
  • Anastasia
  • (Anya)
  • (AnnMarie/Ann-Marie) (after Max’s grandmothers)
  • Cassandra
  • Caitlin
  • Cathryn
  • Cecily
  • Cecile
  • Cesia
  • Celia
  • Celeste
  • (Diana) (after my grandma)
  • (Dyane) (after my grandma)
  • Emma
  • Grace
  • (Helen)
  • Helena
  • Ivy
  • Jessamyn
  • Jerricha
  • Joy
  • Kathryn
  • Liana
  • Madeleine
  • Madalyn
  • Magdalene (it’s an old family name on my mom’s side)
  • Mara
  • Madison
  • Margaret
  • Megan
  • (Marie-Ann)
  • Marina
  • Marine
  • Marin
  • Melanie
  • Meri
  • Miranda
  • Natalie
  • Nora
  • (Noreen) (after my grandma)
  • Olivia
  • (Penny)
  • Piper
  • Paige
  • (Robyn)
  • (Roberta)
  • Sabra
  • Samantha
  • Samara
  • Sara
  • Selina
  • Serena
  • Tabitha
  • Tara
  • Tesia
  • Tessa
  • (Theresa/Therese) (after my grandma)
  • Teressa
  • Victoria
  • Vivien
  • Zara

Cassie’s birthmother’s name is actually on this list, although I’d pronounce it differently than she does. There are also some names on this list that I wouldn’t use now (Emma, for example) because they’re too popular. And I wouldn’t use Victoria because of the character in Twilight.

If we had another girl, I have no idea what we’d name her. Max doesn’t like my second favorite name, Tabitha. I’d probably use either Diana, Robyn, or Ann-Marie as her middle name though. Family names.

Any thoughts? What are your favorite names?

7 thoughts on “Names

  1. I randomly doodle baby names all the time, so when I’m cleaning out old papers I come across many different “favorite baby names” lists. It’s so fun to look back on those. 🙂 It’s fun to see other people’s lists too! There always seems to be a similar “style” to them that’s hard to put your finger on.

  2. I narrowed Marisha’s name down to Marisha or Isabella, but hubby didn’t like Isabella. Now Marisha named her cat Isabella. My mom almost named my brother Mark, so I picked it up and named my son Marc. Almost a pattern. I always like the name Sydney for a girl, but for me, not for my kids.

  3. Leo is a favorite of mine and is the name of a CT trooper who inspired DH to become a cop. I unfortunately don’t like nicknames as formal names but I don’t like any of the formal names that are associated w Leo.

    Last time we only agreed on a girls name. This time we only are in agreement on a boys name- maybe its a sign!

    (Is there a possibility of a 3rd for you guys? 🙂 )

Tell me what you think

