It Finally Happened

It finally happened.

We went to an event (my cousin’s rehearsal dinner) and the only other black person there was a waiter.

I’m not really sure I have a point.

I’m used to living in Antioch, where white people are the minority. Jackson’s preschool (soon to be Cassie’s preschool!) was about half “appears to be white”, half “appears to be non-white.” Remember, you can’t always tell a person’s racial background by the color of his or her skin, so “appears to be” is the best I can do.

Similarly, Jackson’s current school is about the same. I don’t actually know how we break down statistically, but based on my eyes, I’d say the student body is pretty evenly dispersed.

But we spent the weekend in Coronado, CA, where my “baby” cousins grew up. Just before we got to my aunt’s house, where the rehearsal dinner was held, Max said, “Did we just double the black population by driving over the bridge?” Then we opened the door, and the first person we saw was a black waiter.

It’s on my mind because we’re looking at leaving Antioch before Jackson starts high school, and some of the areas we’re looking into are primarily white.

As I said, I’m not sure I have a point. I just wanted to put this out there.

One thought on “It Finally Happened

  1. I think it could be something to consider it ended up being a major factor for my children in school as they were growing up.

Tell me what you think

