Bragging About Cassie

If you’d prefer not to read a post in which I brag about how awesome my daughter is – which I totally understand – skip reading today. My blog is also read by members of my family, including my mother-in-law (Hi Sandy!) and Cassie’s birthmom, and they prefer my bragging to my opinions about adoption. It’s all about balance, right?

That said, Cassie is a genius!

OK, maybe that’s hyperbole, but not by much.

I was telling my Aunt Sue the other day that I think Cassie has 200 words. Max thinks I’m exaggerating. He says she has more like 150-175 tops. I won’t list them all out for you, but I think I’m closer to right.

Cassie can also say her ABCs. Sometimes she skips a few, but she has said them from A to Z more than once.

We were at a birthday party two weeks ago, for a friend who was turning 3. He got an alphabet wood puzzle for his birthday. I picked up the letter M and said to Cassie, “Cassie, what’s this?” The boy’s older sister said, “She doesn’t know.” And Cassie said, “M.”

Cassie knew A, B, C, D, E, H, J, L, M, O, P, S, T, U, X, Y. She also picked up W, turned it upside down, and declared, “M!”

For the record, she said F was E, N was M, Q was O, R was P, V was U, and Z was S.

Cassie’s been watching a lot of Signing Time (which she calls “sign talk”) and knows most of the signs from her videos. I think my favorite right now is “strawberry”. She says, “stawburr-ree.” So cute! She also knows the names of the colors, but won’t answer the question, “What color is this?”

And finally…

Sometime last month, I was making dinner at the stove and Cassie was behind me, on the step stool (she says “plum” for “climb”) playing with the magnets on the refrigerator. She started saying something over and over again – “Yane”, “Yane”. I thought, “What’s that? There’s nothing like that on the fridge.” So, I turned around, and she was pointing at the picture of her and her birthmother. She was saying “Laine, Laine.” I tried to get a video to post for Laine, but as soon as I got my phone out, Cassie said, “Phone” and it was all over. Since then, however, she’s been saying Laine’s name when she sees the picture.*

__________________________________________________________

* OK, Cassie didn’t really say “Laine” because that’s not her birthmother’s real name. “Laine” has an unusual name, and I want to protect her privacy. But the point is, she really does know and say her birthmother’s name.

4 thoughts on “Bragging About Cassie

Tell me what you think

