Chicks In Crisis

Recently, I’ve seen several inquiries about Inez Whitlow and the organization Chicks In Crisis. We did have some minor interaction with them on our adoption journey in 2010-2011.

When we started adopting in 2010, I found the Chicks In Crisis web site, probably through dumb luck. It was very different than it is now. Then, it was just a few pages with some very basic information about their services. Now, it’s a full-fledged web site with a bunch of pages and links. It appears that their organization has grown and changed since 2010-2011.

The fact is, I can’t tell you that much about Chicks In Crisis, really. At the time, Inez told me that most of the women who come to Chicks In Crisis choose to parent, but when they don’t, Inez, the founder, can act as a facilitator.

I really only had two interactions with her. In November 2010, I contacted Inez for some information and she let me know that she had an expectant mom due “any day” with a baby girl. I hustled to get a really short profile to her, via FedEx. And I heard nothing… I did call and finally got Inez and we talked for a long time, about this expectant mom and about CIC in general. Apparently, looking at my notes, Inez also told me that they place far more boys than girls.

Ultimately, we were told that “she just wasn’t interested” in our family. At that time, I gave Inez all of our information, including a few copies of our profile book.

I didn’t hear from Inez again. I did contact her in April 2011 to see if she even remembered me, and if it would be worthwhile to give her our updated profile book. Again, she had an expectant mom thinking of placing, but again, we weren’t chosen. I gave her our updated information.

I never heard from her again.

At the time I was in touch with CIC, there was no fee for prospective adoptive parents to be on file. Apparently, there is now. It’s either $1,500 or $7,500 – I’ve heard both. (There was a fee if Inez actually acted as a facilitator, and I believe that was in the $7,500 range at the time.)

I can understand wanting to “separate the wheat from the chaff” and charge PAPs a reasonable fee to be on file. Personally, I don’t find anything above $200 to be reasonable.

CIC isn’t primarily an adoption facilitator, or, rather, it’s not supposed to be. It’s supposed to be an organization that helps women in unplanned (crisis) pregnancies by offering assistance and resources. “Adoption Services” is now listed first in its masthead on the web site. I do wonder if charging PAPs a large fee upfront has influenced their services any.

4 thoughts on “Chicks In Crisis

  1. I’d love to tell you a little bit about my experience w/ CIC, but not publically… you can email me at the email address that should show up on the form. thanks!

    • i don’t see your email address in this form. I would like to talk to you directly regarding your CIC experience. I am not sure how to share my email with you.

      • Mya, thank you for commenting. You’re an expectant mom and you’re looking for an organization to work with? Chicks In Crisis does have both parenting and placing resources. There are a few other crisis/unplanned pregnancy centers in the San Francisco Bay Area, but I’m afraid I don’t know anything about them. I do recommend BirthMom Buds, an online organization that offers support to expectant moms considering placing. http://www.birthmombuds.com/

Tell me what you think

