Open Adoption Blog Hop #2: Quotes

HOPThe Open Adoption Bloggers thought it might be fun to also get to know one another in a more lighthearted way through a good old-fashioned blog hop! Each blogger answers a question, and we post our links. We then comment on at least three other people’s blogs. Fun!

Do you have a favorite quotation?
I have way too many favorite quotations. I’m going to briefly explain a few of them.
“To love another person is to see the face of God.” ~ Les Miserables (the musical)
Les Miz is my favorite musical ever. This quote is just pure beauty.
“Faith is believing in things when common sense tells you not to.” ~ Miracle on 34th Street
I do believe that there are forces we just don’t understand. Just because something can’t be proven scientifically doesn’t necessarily mean it’s false. Sometimes, you have to go with your gut.
“Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.” ~ John Lennon
This is the quote that seems to rule my life. I don’t even like the song it comes from. I don’t even like The Beatles’ or John Lennon’s music, for the most part. But this quote is so true for me. I thought I’d be in a totally different place than where I am now. But, life happens.
“Memories are things that never happened.” ~ The Mirror Song, Toys
This is one of those quotes that seemed so profound to me in high school. I do think it’s true – events, people, places, really nothing is the same as we remember it.
Just for fun, I asked Jackson for his favorite quote. It’s from Ninjago:
“Put the cow down and get back to work!”
Well said.
5 thoughts on “Open Adoption Blog Hop #2: Quotes

  1. I love Jackson’s quote! The Les Mis quote is great, too. I’m wondering if you saw my Les Mis adoption movie review? I’d love to know what you thought…

    “Memories are things that never happened” is very interesting. If you and I attended the same event, we’d both remember the event, and the event did happen — but the memory you carry of it (informed by your feelings about the event, where you sat, who you talked to) and my memory of the event will probably be 100 % different — and that’s really interesting to me 🙂

    • I did see the review, but I haven’t seen the movie yet. In general, I find your reviews to be quite thorough and well considered.
      Regarding memories: Exactly! I couldn’t put it better myself.

Tell me what you think

