Open Adoption Blog Hop #1: Objet d’Art

The Open Adoption Bloggers thought it might be fun to also get to know one another in a more lighthearted way through a good old-fashioned blog hop! Each blogger answers a question, and we post our links. We then comment on at least three other people’s blogs. Fun!

What is your favorite room/spot/piece of art in your home and why?

 Fortunately for me, this is an easy one. I’m in a hotel room in Louisiana right now, but I’m covered because I have already written about my favorite piece of art. Therefore, I already have a picture of it. Now, I can tell you why it is my favorite piece of art.
Brainiac 5 & Andromeda

Brainiac 5 & Andromeda

I started dating Max, the-guy-who-would-become-my-husband in October of 1995. Max is a big comic book fanboy. In college, he was a really big comic book fanboy. One of the first things he did was to try to get me hooked on comics. He was moderately successful. I immediately enjoyed The Legion of Super-Heroes and Legionnaires reboots of the day. My favorite characters were Brainiac 5 and Andromeda. I always thought they should end up together, but I don’t think it ever happened in that series.

Anyway… it was coming up to our one year anniversary, October 16, 1996. Max was killing himself working on the Scotch ‘n’ Soda Homecoming show (he wrote it), and I was busily taking the last of my required classes before graduating. On our anniversary, Max presented me with this original artwork. He commissioned it from the comic book artists, WC Carani and Jeff Moy.

My college boyfriend commissioned two well-known and respected comic book artists – the ones who drew the series I loved – to make me a poster with Andromeda and Brainiac 5 in the Rhett and Scarlett pose from the Gone with the Wind movie poster. Gone with the Wind is my favorite movie of all time. Awesome!

That piece of art has had a place of honor in my/our homes ever since.

9 thoughts on “Open Adoption Blog Hop #1: Objet d’Art

  1. Since I’m not a comic book fan girl I had no idea you could make comics romantic but boy oh boy did your guy succeed at doing just that. Sounds like a keeper!

  2. That is really a beautiful piece, and what a great story to go with it. I definitely see why its your favorite. You’ve got an amazing guy there!

Tell me what you think

