Cassie’s First Birthday Party

Cassie turns one (1!) on October 25, but we had her party on October 21. I went a little nuts. Due to some bad luck, she never got a baby shower. Due to the laws in Louisiana, the adoption hasn’t been finalized yet, so she never had a Welcome Party to celebrate her finalization. So we (I) decided to do a big first birthday party.

Of course, it was Winnie the Pooh themed. Classic Pooh, to be precise. I spent a lot of time on Pinterest, coming up with ideas.

I started by making invitations:

Cassie's 1st Birthday Invitation

We invited 126 people. 69 RSVP’d “yes” and 65 of them attended. That’s why we had the party at a park.

I really loved the Candy Buffet we did for Shaina’s Twilight Baby Shower, and I saw a great idea online, so I decided to go with a Sweets Table for this party. Many of the guests were children, and children love sweets! I chose the candies based on color: Pink (Piglet), Yellow (Pooh), Orange (Tigger), and Purple/Blue (Eeyore). I made two different offerings: Tigger Tails (pretzel rods dipped in orange candy melts, drizzled with chocolate) and Hunny Pot Marshmallow Pots (based on cake pops I found online).

Tigger Tails

Tigger Tails

Hunny Pot Marshmallow Pop

Hunny Pot Marshmallow Pop

Sweets Table

Sweets Table

The other candies I had were: Salt Water Taffy, Watermelon Honey Straws, Sour Watermelon Slices, Bottlecaps, Sweet Tarts, Nerds, Regular Honey Straws, Lemonheads, Laffy Taffy, Peach Rings, Candy Corn, Butterscotch, Orange Slices, Caramel Kisses (conveniently orange and brown striped!), Reese’s Pieces, Goldfish Crackers (for the babies), Dark Kisses, and Razzles. Thank goodness for Halloween! I was able to get a lot of candy in big bunches.

Close up of the sweets table

Close up of the sweets table

Sweets Table, Yellow and Orange

Sweets Table, Yellow and Orange

Sadly, I didn’t get any pictures of the awesome sign I made (kinda looked like this one). Nor did I get any pictures of the food table, which had nifty little signs identifying the food. We had Hunny Sandwiches, Rabbit’s Garden Veggies, Piglet Punch (pink lemonade), Eeyore’s Thistly Dip (Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip), Tigger’s Twisty Pasta Salad, Haycorns, and your usual deli sandwich fixings.

Unfortunately, Cassie, Jackson, and I were an hour late. It was a combination of factors. I had too much to do, a lot of it was only in my head, which is never a good place for it to be. My lovely friend Cheyenne baby-sat Cassie during her nap (yes, we made sure the birthday girl got her nap), and made the Dip while she was at it. Max went to one Raley’s to pick up the food… but I ordered it from the other Raley’s… On my way to the park from picking up Jackson and Cassie, I realized that I didn’t have anything to serve the cake with. So I had to go back and get a big knife and a cake server.

Speaking of the cake, I once again had two cakes done by Jen’s Custom Cakes. I had one done for Cassie – a Hunny Pot cake – and a big book cake.

Hunny Pot cake for Cassie herself (by Jen's Custom Cakes)

Hunny Pot cake for Cassie herself (by Jen’s Custom Cakes)

Book Cake by Jen's Custom Cakes

Book Cake by Jen’s Custom Cakes

In addition to the Sweets Table, I put some photos of Cassie in frames for people to take home. My friend Annemarie made these cute frames for Jackson’s Welcome Party, but I couldn’t find the same ones. I also got Classic Pooh story books for Cassie’s baby friends, seeing as they couldn’t partake of the sweets.

Favors for Cassie's Party

Favors for Cassie’s Party

I put some Pooh quotes at the Food, Sweets, and Favors tables.

Provisions Table Sign

Provisions Table Sign

Sweets Table Sign

Sweets Table Sign

Favors Table Sign

Favors Table Sign

And, finally, what you’ve all been waiting for… pictures of Cassie at her party. I did not make the tutu. I traded some of Cassie’s small gDiapers for it, as well as for the custom hairbow, from Sara’s Shop.

Cassie mingles

Cassie mingles

Emma plays peek-a-boo with Cassie

Emma plays peek-a-boo with Cassie

Cassie is pleased as punch

Cassie is pleased as punch

And now, the Cassie and her cake pictures! Some of these were taken by my friend Jude and some by my friend (and professional photographer) Karyn (with her iPhone, gotta love it!).

Cassie: What is this thing?

Cassie: What is this thing?

Oooh, it feels fun!

Oooh, it feels fun!

And I can eat it...

And I can eat it…

Nom nom nom...

Nom nom nom…

Oooh... sugar!!!

Oooh… sugar!!!

I tried to feed Cassie the cake with a fork…

Uh, no thank you. I prefer to use my hands.

Uh, no thank you. I prefer to use my hands.

Cassie eating her cake

Cassie eating her cake

We took a break so Cassie could go eat her cake with Max, and Jude and I served the big cake to everyone.

Cassie's cake face

Cassie’s cake face

Cassie and the cake ... mmmm

Cassie and the cake … mmmm

Must have another handful...

Must have another handful…

Oh the sugary goodness!

Oh the sugary goodness!

There's still more left!

There’s still more left!

The cake after Cassie got done with it

The cake after Cassie got done with it

Cassie, after she got done with the cake

Cassie, after she got done with the cake

The cake did wash out of my shirt, Cassie’s onesie, and Cassie’s tutu.

Next year, we’ll have a much, much smaller affair. But a first birthday is something to celebrate!

3 thoughts on “Cassie’s First Birthday Party

  1. Pingback: Happy Holidays from the Chittister Family « The Chittister Family

  2. Pingback: My Complicated Relationship with Baby Showers | The Chittister Family

  3. Pingback: Party Politics: Toddler Edition | The Chittister Family

Tell me what you think

