10 Days ‘Til 10 Years: Memory Lane

On July 27, Max and I will celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I’ve decided to post something new everyday about us. Because it’s my blog, and I can.

While I was writing the timeline, I remembered a few things that I want to share.

Who Says Couples Shouldn’t Work Together?

Max and I have frequently worked together. During my junior year, I was part of a team putting together a style guide and templates for the Computing Skills Workshop books. Max was on the team too. He even edited the textbook that I wrote.

When I moved to New Hampshire in 1998, I purposefully did not apply to Oracle NEDC. Max didn’t think that working together, when we were the only people we knew, would be a good idea. I took a job with a start up called e-Travel. In March 1999, Oracle bought e-Travel. I hated my job there, so I sort of begged and networked my way into Oracle Documentation Tools, located in NEDC. At first, Max and I worked on the same floor, but on different sides of the building. Then, everyone moved, and we sat in the same bank of cubicles, but he got the window cube because he had been there longer.

On Stage

In February 1996, Max and I were in an independent production of Hair. We got to make out during “Walking in Space.” It’s one of only two shows we’ve ever been on stage in together. The other was Sabrina Fair, in which I roped him into playing a two-line part as my boyfriend at a party. That was our first show in New Hampshire.

Tag Lines

In the summer of 1996, I was an intern for Microsoft. I found a really cool group of people to hang out with. Eventually, each of us had our own tag lines. Danyel’s (I think) was “How ’bout them Mets?” Reagan’s was “Mmm… something sure smells good.” Ray’s (I think) was “Oh Canada.” Mine? “I miss Max.” It got so bad, Danyel would just say it for me. I had trouble sleeping, due in part to a very sexually active couple in the apartment above mine. I said that I’d sleep better if Max were there. Danyel said, “How did you sleep before you met Max? And I refuse to accept ‘Badly.'”

 

 

Tell me what you think

