10 Days ‘Til 10 Years: I’m Going to Kiss You Now

On July 27, Max and I will celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I’ve decided to post something new everyday about us. Because it’s my blog, and I can. 

October 15, 1995.
Scotch ‘n’ Soda did a show in the old CMU gymnasium for Homecoming. I was in a short one-act titled, Love with Lime Jello, in which I played a pregnant woman. (Aside: Although I have never wanted to be pregnant, I really enjoy playing pregnant women on stage. I think it’s because I don’t have to worry about how fat I look.) Max did a monologue that he wrote, so his parents came to the show. They knew of me, and when they saw me in the show they thought that I was really pregnant. That didn’t go over so well. I guess I’m a great actress or something. But I digress…
The cast party was held at the Wightman house, a 4-bedroom house with a large, open downstairs. As often happened at these events, I got drunk real quick. I don’t even remember how, but I ended up in my friend Liz’s room talking to Max. We spent about two hours talking about why it would be a very bad idea for us to date. During these two hours, I sobered up, which made me very upset.
At this point, it was October 16. The excerpt from my journal is probably the best explanation:
The next thing I know, all I can think of is how much I’ll regret inaction, and I told [Max], “I’m going to kiss you now.”
Thus, October 16, 1995 is the day that Max and I started dating.
One thought on “10 Days ‘Til 10 Years: I’m Going to Kiss You Now

  1. Pingback: 10 Days ‘Til 10 Years: Timeline « The Chittister Family

Tell me what you think

