I Don’t Know What I Want to Be When I Grow Up

I had a conversation with Jackson tonight that I don’t want to forget…

We were reading a story about a bear who learns how to make pies. I remembered that the City sponsors cooking classes for kids, but I think you have to be 7 to join. I said to Jackson, “You know, I think you might be able to take cooking next year.”

He got very serious. “NO. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up yet.”

Me: I know honey. I was just saying you could take a class and learn to cook.

Jackson: (worried) No, Mommy. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up yet. I don’t know if I want to be a vet, or a zookeeper, or a policeman, or a … ambalance – what are they called?

Me: Paramedics?

Jackson: Paramedic. Yeah, a paramedic might be the best thing.

Me: Jackson, do you know how old I was when I figured out I wanted to be a tech writer? (he shook his head) 20.

Jackson: Or maybe I’ll want to be a chef, or a tech writer –

Me: Don’t be a tech writer. It’s not fun.

Jackson: Or a waitress.

Me: Waiter. A lot of people wait tables while they’re in college for money.

Jackson: (perks up) Yeah! I want to go somewhere where I can be picked up at 3:00.

Me: (unsuccessfully trying not to laugh) Jackson, college doesn’t work that way. You have different classes every day at different times.

Jackson: (glumly) Oh great.

Me: And you can go far away like I did, or close like Daddy did. I could only go home twice a year, but some of my friends lived about 4-5 hours away and they could go home for all of the major holidays – Thanksgiving, Christmas –

Jackson: Yeah! I could do that! I could come home and play with my Legos. You know I’ll still like Legos when I’m in college.

Me: You know, you  could work for Lego. Be someone who designs the kits.

Jackson: (excited) Yeah! I could design big kits… Like Ninjago City! You know that’d be big!

We then got into a technical discussion about Lego design and how working for Lego means that you get Legos for free. Now, Jackson wants to work for Lego. Anyone have any networking ideas for a six-year old?

Tell me what you think

