Family History: First Memory

Each Tuesday, Dede offers questions or ideas, which hopefully will spark a memory you can write/record so that it can be left for children/grandchildren/family/friends.

Describe the first memory that you can think of and share it with as much detail as you can.

This is a funny one. The actual memory is this:

I’m lying on my mom’s bed with my legs towards the door. I yell at her and kick her in the face. I run down the hall and run into my father’s legs. I’m not even as tall as his waist.

Apparently, this memory is associated with the last time I wore diapers.

According to my mother, what I yelled, though I don’t remember it, is “No more Pampers!”

She was changing my diaper on her bed, and I kicked her in the face and ran away.

From that day on, I was toilet trained. I had just turned two.

I can remember my parents’ bedspread. I can remember the light in the hall and the paint color. I even think I remember that my Dad was wearing pajamas.

I think it’s hilarious that this is my first memory.

Tell me what you think

