Once Upon a Time

I’m not going to tell you a story. I’m talking about the TV show, Once Upon a Time. I’ve been watching it since the pilot. Ever since I played Granny in Into the Woods in high school, I’ve really enjoy fractured fairy tales.

If you don’t watch the show, here’s the premise: The Evil Queen placed a curse on the entirety of fairytale land, placing them all in the present day. None of them, save the Queen, knows who they are. Very few of them are where they should be. For example, Snow White is a primary school teacher and Prince Charming begins as an unknown comatose patient, and ends up married to some random woman he doesn’t love. Enter Henry, the Queen’s adopted son, who has a book that details everyone’s lives, pre-curse. In the first episode, he finds his birthmother, Emma, who is really Snow White and Prince Charming’s daughter. She was sent to this realm as a baby, because she could end the curse. Unfortunately, she ended up appearing abandoned by the side of a freeway and grew up in foster care. Henry convinces her to come back to Storybrooke, Maine to  break the curse. Of course, Emma doesn’t believe in the curse, but she does believe that Henry might need her, because she knows that Regina (the Queen) is lying when she says she loves Henry.

The adoption storyline is probably the most real of any on TV right now. The adoptive mother verbally berating the birthmother who shows up on her doorstep in the middle of the night is over the top, but I have actually seen adoptive parents write the same words in forums. I think Emma does a great job of playing the birthmother aspect of her role.

Unfortunately, the Queen always wins. So far, only two other people have clued in that they’re really fairy tale characters. One has always known but played dumb. The other started to figure it out and the Queen killed him. A mysterious stranger is in town, and I’m pretty sure he knows what’s up, but we don’t know for sure.

The pace is incredibly slow. I’m guessing the creators don’t know how they’ll sustain the show if/when everyone figures out they’re fairy tale characters, so they’re dragging that part out as long as they can.

Two weeks ago, I was ready to quit. Then, I saw that Emilie de Ravin (aka Claire from Lost) was going to play Belle (as in Beauty) in the next episode. So, I said if Good didn’t win at the end of that episode, I’d quit. Good made some headway, but so did Evil. I made the same deal for this week. Evil definitely won, but there was more about the Stranger…

I can’t decide if I want to watch this show or not. It pisses me off almost every week. It’s the most intriguing show I’ve watched in years, and definitely the most original. I really want it to work…

So, do I keep watching, or wait for the series to end and catch it on DVD?

One thought on “Once Upon a Time

  1. Pingback: The Movies and Adoption | The Chittister Family

Tell me what you think

