My Little Obsession with Twilight

First, an apology to my subscribers. This blog actually started out on LiveJournal. I was talking to a friend today who said that she had read my blog, but that she hadn’t seen the posts tagged “twilight.” So I looked, and I never brought most of them over. I decided to do that tonight. Apparently, that means that all of my old posts are sent to my subscribers. I’m really sorry! I didn’t realize until I was almost done. The next time I bring old content over, I’ll try and figure out how not to annoy people.

The post I was looking for was Escape.

How did I get into Twilight? I was talking to my then-new-friend Christy. It was maybe two weeks after my mom died. We were talking about books – we share the same interests – and she asked what I thought of the Twilight series. I told her, “Max won’t let me read it.”

I could tell I had offended Christy’s feminist sensibilities. “He won’t LET you?!?”

So she made an effort to drop the first book off to me.

I hated the first chapter so much, I almost stopped reading. But I decided I owed it to Christy to keep going. This lead to the post Stupid Stupid Book That Makes Me Stay Up ‘Til All Hours of the Night Reading It.

I read the entire saga in eight days. And then I read it again. And again. I highlighted the parts I liked best.

I was working insane hours then. I was a full-time employee, but I worked every day, including weekends, from the day after my mom’s funeral (May 29th) until Labor Day. (Actually, Max stopped me from working on July 4th, Independence Day.) I worked from when I woke up – I read software manuals at breakfast – until dinner. Then, I played with Jackson for an hour or so, bathed him, put him down, and worked until 2 am. Then, I read Twilight for another hour or two.

I loved Twilight because I didn’t have to think. Because the characters were so young and anything was possible. Because it had true love. Because it had Alice, who could see the future, and Emmett, the best brother a person could ever have. Because it ended with a happily ever after.

I started reading Twilight fanfic. I still do, on occasion, though much less than I used to. I don’t think I read anything that wasn’t Twilight-related for about a year. I wouldn’t read any fanfic that couldn’t properly use the terms “Cullens”, “Cullen’s”, and “Cullens'”. That was my criteria.

Why am I telling you this? Breaking Dawn, Part 1 opens today. I’m supposed to go and see it with a friend. We appreciate that it’s crack. The movies are horribly awfully bad, but they’re fun! And even though I’m Team Edward, Taylor Lautner is certainly easy on the eyes.

Twilight has actually been a big part of my life. It’s the past time for when I’m not being Mommy or Senior Technical Writer. I take a lot of flack for it from my husband (and his Facebook friends were recently downright mean about the fact that there are Twilight-themed baby showers in the works). And you know what? Twilight actually has adoption themes. That’s right, I’m going to write about Twilight and adoption.

But not today. Today, I thought I’d “come out”.

I am Robyn, and I am addicted to Twilight. In the words of the sticker that Christy gave me for my birthday, I have  Obsessive Cullen Disorder.

3 thoughts on “My Little Obsession with Twilight

  1. Awesome stuff! I remember when Bec gave me the first book to read. I thought was too sophisticated for a tween book and put off reading it for a week or two. But out of obligation to Bec, I read it. And at time I was being laid off and was horribly upset. I ended up reading the book and proceeded to read the rest of the series within a week. Was a wonderful guilty pleasure. My fandom doesn’t reach yours, but have a healthy appreciation for it!

  2. I love this 🙂 I may be slightly less addicted than you are but I absolutely love the books. They are perfect mind candy! The movies are….painful. I watched the first two but I haven’t been able to make myself watch any more than that. I hope you enjoyed your night out!

Tell me what you think

