I Broke Down and Did It

I finally broke down and did it. I created a Baby Registry at Babies R Us.

When we matched with Jackson, I created registries right away. When we matched back in April, I didn’t. When we matched in July, I didn’t. When we matched in August, I didn’t. But the baby is due in 9 days, so I did.

I’ve had a private wish list on Amazon.com ever since Jackson was old enough to grow out of some of the things we wanted for him. But I hadn’t created a registry. It seemed presumptuous, and like it could possibly bring bad luck. It still kind of does.

You may be surprised, but the question, “When do we create a registry?” is asked a lot on adoption forums. My answer is always “Whenever you damn well please.” Thanks to Amazon’s Universal Wish List, you can put whatever you’d like on a private wish list, then go back later and make it public. You can add items from the places you want to register, then create real registries closer to – or after – the baby’s due date.

There aren’t any rules for this in the adoption world. Like many aspects of adoption, you just have to go with your gut.

3 thoughts on “I Broke Down and Did It

    • I think one of my friends is going to do a traditional-type shower after the baby is born and home. We’ll probably do a finalization party after the adoption is finalized and invite families. You’re on the list for both. 🙂

  1. Awesome, thanks so much! Can’t wait to meet the new mbr of your family, hope it all goes smoothly for you guys. I’m sure Jack is super excited!

Tell me what you think

