Ten Favorite Songs

The WordPress post-a-day topic for September 3 was an easy and fun one:

Write a top ten list of your favorite songs.

  1. Bizarre Love Triangle, New Order
  2. Closer to Fine, Indigo Girls
  3. Winter, Tori Amos (I have 16 versions)
  4. Rockin’ Robin, Bobby Day (it was either embrace it, or be pissed anytime anyone sang it)
  5. Galileo, Indigo Girls
  6. The Search is Over, Survivor (the closest thing Max and I have to “our song”)
  7. Dark Blue, Jack’s Mannequin (from the Twilight playlists)
  8. Chase This Light, Jimmy Eat World (from the Twilight playlists)
  9. 99 Red Balloons/99 Luftballons, Nena
  10. Silver Blue, Roxette

You may notice there aren’t any showtunes on this list. I kind of compartmentalize showtunes. It would be hard to compare them to more contemporary music. So, I thought I’d create a list of my to 10 showtunes too.

  1. Hold On, The Secret Garden
  2. Holding to the Ground, Falsettoland
  3. Into the Fire, The Scarlet Pimpernel
  4. One Day More, Les Miserables
  5. One Song Glory, Rent
  6. I love so many songs from Wicked, it’s hard to pick just one… The Wizard and I nudges out the others by just a bit.
  7. Smoke and Mirrors, Nemeses (A musical written at CMU that I was in my freshman year. This was the song I never got to sing on stage.)
  8. What Is This Feeling?, Wicked
  9. Defying Gravity, Wicked
  10. You Are My Home, The Scarlet Pimpernel (two friends sung this at our wedding)

Just a bit of fluff in the getting to know you vein.

Tell me what you think

