Maybe the Third Time’s the Charm

I check adoption situation pages on the web daily. Last week, one of the facilitators had a situation for an African American girl due in October. I asked for more information. Everything seemed to be in order. The situation was a little over our budget, but not too bad. Besides, we didn’t have any other prospects, so… we put our names in. I never thought we’d be chosen.

On Thursday night, the facilitator, Lil, called us. She said that the expectant mother had pretty much chosen us, due in large part to Jackson. The emom, whom I’ll call Laine*, liked that he was so cute, that he wanted a baby sister so much, that he seemed to be so smart, and that we were already a transracial family.

We had a phone meeting with Lil and Laine on Friday. Later that night, Lil confirmed that Laine wanted to go forward.

So, we’re matched!

Laine is due in Louisiana in October.

I’m more terrified than anything else. After two failed matches, it’s hard to believe that we’ll ever complete our family. Lil gave us Laine’s contact information, and I talked with her for two hours last night. Max is now far less worried. I’m a little less worried. I mean, I’m a worrier, so I’m going to worry.

I think Laine is a level-headed woman and she knows – as much as anyone can know – what she’s choosing. She seems to have a much firmer grasp of adoption than a lot of people who haven’t been living it.

She asked about Teen Mom, which I don’t watch, but I know one of the moms chose adoption, and I guess the family cut off contact after the baby was one year old? She asked if that was normal, and I told her no. I told her that we’d only cut off contact if something really huge happened, and explained the contact we have with Jackson’s birthmom.

We’re announcing this because:

  • I can’t keep my own secrets. (Other people’s sure, but my own, not so much.) Nor can I lie very well.
  • We want to be able to talk about this with other people. Even if it falls through, it will be better to have everyone know what’s going on.
  • We hope that other people will be excited for us, and maybe that will help us be more excited than worried.

So, please say prayers for us and for Laine and her family.

 

* “Laine” actually has a beautiful name, but it’s unique. To protect her privacy, I decided to use a pseudonym. Because to me, Louisiana immediately brings to mind the Sookie Stackhouse series, I decided to use “Laine” as in Charlaine Harris, the author of the books.

11 thoughts on “Maybe the Third Time’s the Charm

  1. Robyn (& Max & Jackson

    I am so happy for you. I will pray that it works out and moves ahead smoothly. The best thing to do is try and stay positive. We are all thinking of you, rooting for you and praying for you.

    Gwen

    PS I will call you about the website thing I asked you about.

  2. All the best to you and your family! I certainly hope that all goes well, its sound great. 🙂 We’ll keep you in our prayers and hopefully we can be planning a baby shower (do you have those for adoption?) very soon. 🙂 Hugs!

  3. Robyn, congrats! I am so excited for you, and will be praying all goes well. It sounds very promising, as in Laine is as sure of her decision as can be expected. I’m glad that you had such a great phone conversation last night!

  4. So excited for you guys! Fingers crossed that it all goes smoothly!!! Seems like only yesterday I was getting a phone call about a baby due in October… It’s a good month 🙂

  5. Pingback: Open Adoption Roundtable #30: Learning About Open Adoption « The Chittister Family

  6. Pingback: Why We Didn’t Sign with Nightlight Christian Adoptions | The Chittister Family

Tell me what you think

