Family History: My Favorite Year

This week, I decided to write the Family History Tuesday post a little closer to Tuesday. This week’s prompt:

What was your favorite school year ever? What about that year made school/education so good for you?

Kindergarten was probably my favorite. I loved Kindergarten! I learned to read. I had a best friend (Dawn Lynn Workman). We had a great playground with tricycles and swings. My teacher, Mrs. Ferguson, I remember thinking that she was the best teacher ever.

I went to public school – Gregory Gardens. But, the next year, my parents put me in Catholic school – Christ the King. I hated it. I refused to say the alphabet in the mornings because “only babies did that”. I already knew most of what they were trying to teach me. I’m sure I behaved like a brat, but apparently no one knew what to do. I begged my mother to put me back in public school, where they had a gifted/talented program. I didn’t have many friends, and, this being a small school, I was with the same people for 8 long, mostly horrendous years.

There were a few bright spots. Fifth grade wasn’t all bad. We had Mrs. Dorsey, who really seemed to like me and tried to help keep me entertained by learning. We got to do a real report – our state report. I wrote about Pennsylvania, where my mom was born. (My sister copied the report two years later. And yes, my mom knew she did it.) In sixth grade, Liz Lampert joined our class, and she became my friend, along with Linda Silva, who had always been my best friend. I liked our teacher, Mrs. McCrory, a lot, and we didn’t have to do a science fair project. (I hate science fairs.)

I liked high school considerably more, because I went to public school and took drama. Still, I’m not sure I could classify any of my high school years as the “best”. Maybe sophomore year, because we did Godspell, my first real musical. I had a lot of great friends, the greatest of whom I do keep in touch with. Junior year was pretty cool. I got a car.

I remember that, at freshman orientation, we saw this video of a comedian who said, “The high school years are the best years of your life.” I completely disagree. College – the college years are the best years of your life. OK, fine, they were the best years of my life. Sure, I did some really stupid stuff. I had very little money. I worked insanely hard and didn’t have a lot of time to explore the place I lived. I never got on the Scotch n Soda Board of Directors, and I never got the roles I really wanted. Oh, and I almost killed myself. But, I met my husband. I got an incredible education. (How I wish I were doing more with it!) I really learned how to be independent. I took a lot of road trips. I got an internship with Microsoft.  College was a truly amazing time.

Tell me what you think

