Family History: What’s In a Name?

I love scrapbooking, and have recently really begun digital scrapbooking. I follow the blog of several designers, including one who blogs about stuff other than scrapbooking sometimes. Today, she’s proposed a Family History Tuesday, and asked her readers to journal about various family history topics. I thought I’d give it a whirl, because I like this first topic:

What is your full name? Who were you named for? How did you get your name? How do you feel about your name?

My full name now is Robyn Marie Nace Chittister. However, I was born Robin Marie Nace – note the change from “i” to “y”. I was named for my dad – Robert. (If I had been a boy, I would have been Brian Robert.) As far as I know, I got the Marie just because my mom liked it.

I always hated my name. In the 4th or 5th grade, a classmate of mine (Vanessa – what a cool name!) was writing people’s names on the chalkboard in fancy writing. Mine was so boring. I said that I wished my name had a “y” instead of an “i”. She said, “Why don’t you just spell it with a ‘y’ then?”.

And so, I did just that.

Robin (with an “i”) means “bird”, but Robyn (with a “y”) means “of bright, shining fame”. So yeah, I liked that better. I changed it legally when I was a senior in high school.

I always hated the last name “Nace”. People would mispronounce it and misspell it, and it’s only 4 letters. I was very happy when Max proposed and I jumped at the chance to change it. “Chittister” is much nicer. I kept Nace as a middle name for legal and sentimental reasons. The last name “Nace” dies with my Dad. It’s a long story, but there aren’t any male Naces to procreate, apparently.

That is the story behind my name. Aren’t you all terribly glad I shared? :0)

Tags:

  • family,
  • names

Comments

( 1 comment )

100ofme

Mar. 3rd, 2010 04:05 pm (UTC)
My name is Sherry Lynn…. My mom said Sherry was just one of her favorite names. In high school I started telling people that I was named Sherry because my parents drank too much of it the night I was conceived.

I always wished it was spelled crazy when I was in school. I would have spelled it Sherrie or Shari or something like that. Now I love it just the way it is and am glad for the traditional spelling.

I have no idea where the Lynn came from. I guess I should ask my mom.

One thought on “Family History: What’s In a Name?

  1. Pingback: Our Names « The Chittister Family

Tell me what you think