Random Thoughts from the Last 2 Months

New Moon, The Movie
I went to see this with my friend Christy the day after Thanksgiving. I actually liked it, for the most part, until they got to Italy. (I know no one except [info]donnajean2277  cares about this, but still.) However, there were certain plot points missing from the first half that bothered me. First, Bella hit Paul without hurting herself. Probably my favorite part of Eclipse is when she hits Jacob and breaks her hand. Can’t really do that now, if they have any sense of continuity. Second, we never hear Bella tell Jacob about the Cullens’ gifts. Once they get to Italy, it’s all crap. Edward is supposed to be a much better fighter. Alice should try harder to restrain Edward. Bella just friggin’ stands there. It’s just all bad.

Jack’s Birthday
Is January 17. We were going to have it at the crepes place, which has a play area. But the crepes place closed. When I told Jack, he reacted with more sadness than he did when my mom died. He got a stricken look and lied down on the couch. He said, “That makes me upset.” Poor guy. We’re going to have the party at our house, so we have to move out most of the furniture.

Work
Sucks. I’m documenting PowerDesk, which is a file manager, like Windows Explorer. It’s the most boring software ever, and there’s a ton of legacy stuff in there, like support for products that haven’t been released since 1995. That’s 15 years ago. That makes me old.

Christmas
Is a whole other post. Max’s aunt, grandmother, mother, and father all came down with the stomach flu. We didn’t. But we only got to see Grandma Sandy and Grandpa Clyde for about 4 days of the 7 we were there. Everyone was very upset. Jack got a ton of *stuff* though. We have very generous friends and family members.
I also got my purple earrings from [info]lindalee , which  made me very happy. A proper thank you is forthcoming. (Yes, I actually ordered thank you cards for Jack’s present, and I will write mine at the same time.)
I got $50 in iTunes gift cards, $150 in Target gift cards, $25 to Starbucks, $15 to Jamba Juice, some New Moon trading cards, a Jack-made ornament, the first season of Charmed, the third season of Gilmore Girls… I know I’m forgetting something. We also hit a Borders Express that was closing, so I got the book Philosophy and Twilight. (Obsession? What obsession?)
I created a tribute scrapbook of my mom’s life for my dad, grandmother, and sister. I finished it on December 30, so Ann doesn’t have it yet.
I created a 4 hour long movie of Jack’s first four years for Sandy & Clyde and Jack’s birthmom. I finished it at 4am on Christmas, so S doesn’t have her copy yet.

Sing Off
Max and I are listening to the Sing Off on his computer. I know the Bubs don’t win – sigh – but I don’t know who does. I’m just glad that the SoCals are gone. Honestly, they were awful!

I think I’ve been very productive this year so far. It’s my goal (not resolution) to remember people’s birthdays and to keep in better contact.

So, I think that’s enough for now. Happy New Year!

Tell me what you think

