Disneyland Day Four

(originally posted on LiveJournal)

It’s been several days, but I don’t want to forget too much. I brought my “real” journal to write in, but couldn’t really do so in the dark.

Monday was our final day at the parks. We had a character breakfast with Lilo and Stitch. I finally got my cake with a candle in it. And it was good! The whole buffet at the PCH Grill was excellent. It was included in our package, so I don’t know how much people actually pay for it. Jack ate a whole omlette, which is unusual.

We really wanted to make Monday count, and do the things we didn’t get a chance to do before. Jack, however, was almost Disney-ed out. After he woke up from his nap, he didn’t want to go back to the park. It took me patiently explaining to him that we wouldn’t be coming back for a long time before he’d go.

We didn’t get a chance to go on the Haunted Mansion, because the Fast Passes were gone. We did get Tinker Bell’s autograph. We also waited to see the princesses again. We tried to convince Jack to go off with one of us on some rides, but he wouldn’t go. He wanted to hug and kiss the pretty girls.

We went on the Jungle Cruise, which Jack kept saying he didn’t want to go on, but loved when he actually did. Then, he and I rode the Disneyland Railroad while Max got seats for the fireworks. He got a spot directly in front of the castle. Perfect! It was a brilliant show, seeing it from there.

After the fireworks, we ate a hurried dinner. Earlier, we’d stopped at the Lego store in Downtown Disney, and Jack got his souvenir for the day – a Lego plane. Max put it together for him when we got back to the hotel. I ate, and tried to get Jack to eat. Then, I put Jack down. Of course, he whined that he needed Daddy in the room to actually go to sleep, so I had to call Max, who was downstairs reading. Pick your battles, I always say.

Lowlights:

  • Trying to convince Jack to go back to Disneyland, and feeling like I was dragging everyone there.
  • Missing the Haunted Mansion.
  • Waiting in another long line for the princesses, and not seeing Belle (my favorite).
  • Jack’s behavior, pre-nap. He ended up missing Goofy, who I found in our hotel lobby.

Highlights:

  • Jack playing “musical islands” with Lilo and Stitch.
  • Seeing an impromptu parade on Main Street.
  • The Fireworks!
  • Riding the railroad with Jack, and him being so happy. I asked him if he was mad at me, and he said, “No. I’m happy at you.”
  • They added piranhas to the Jungle Cruise. That was pretty cool.

I don’t imagine we’ll be going back anytime soon. It’s rather expensive, and kind of a long trip, whether we fly or drive. I think maybe we should have waited another year before bringing Jack. I didn’t realize how much he would need his nap during the days.

It was nice to have a real vacation, though, and not have to worry about meeting anyone or checking email for work.

Tell me what you think

