Disneyland Day Three

(originally posted on LiveJournal)

Most of Sunday was, unfortunately, a lowlight. You see, Jack started the day by whining. He wanted to go on a ride, then he didn’t. We essentially dragged him on to every ride in Fantasyland, and he enjoyed each ride, but he still whined. We ate lunch, then I took Jack back to the hotel for a nap.

Only Jack wouldn’t nap. At all. I yelled at him. I held him. I tried to reason with him. I even tried the “I’m calling your father” trick. Only Max’s phone wasn’t working. So I spent 2 hours in a hotel room with a whining, crying, frustrated 3 year old, and I was also whining, crying, and frustrated.

In short, I was a bad mother on Sunday.

We did ride Alice in Wonderland, the teacups (lots of fun!), Snow White, the Carousel, Peter Pan’s Flight (way too long a line for way too short a ride), and Pinocchio. We did all of that in a few hours in the morning.

After we came back to Disneyland, we went to the rafts and rode to the Pirate’s Lair on Tom Sawyer Island. I had always wanted to go over there, but my mom never would let us, and when I was older, no one else wanted to go. It was really cute. I think it would have been better if Jack were about 6 or 7. I felt like I had to be right with him the whole time, making sure he only went to places he was allowed to go and didn’t get lost. We ended up on the Fantasmic stage, and Jack pretended to be Mickey for a moment.

I think from the Island we went to … well, why don’t I just look at the pictures? Oh yes, we went to Critter Country, where we saw Brer Bear, Brer Fox, Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, and Eeyore. We went on the Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh ride, and then ate dinner. (I should say that Max and Jack ate dinner. I was hungry at weird times.)

After that, Jack was convinced that he wanted to go on the Matterhorn. I thought it might be too scary for him. I had forgotten a lot about it, and couldn’t remember if I liked it or not. I went… and Jack was calmer than I was! It was cool, and I have to remember that it’s up and then around and around, not down. I hate drops. Jack wanted to go on again, but the wait was 25 minutes, and Max wanted to go on Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride. That was cool – I don’t know when I’d been on that last. it was neater than the other, similar rides.

After Mr. Toad, Max took Jack back to the hotel. I ended up getting into the FastPass line for Big Thunder Mountain. I went on in the first car by myself. BTM had been my favorite ride. I think I like it better during the day, and I definitely like it better with someone. I had a FastPass for the Haunted Mansion at 8:30, so I went to Main Street to eat dinner. I ended up getting an apple that was dipped in caramel, chocolate, and sprinkles, that looked like Minnie. It was $8 and it was delicious!

I did a little bit of shopping, including buying myself a cute Winnie the Pooh shirt, and a Cars shirt for Jack.

Went on the Haunted Mansion, which was AWESOME! So much better than when it’s the “real” mansion. You see, they dress it up for the holiday – Christmas. It’s the Nightmare Before Christmas. I really wanted to take Jack on, but we couldn’t get to it on Monday. Next time.

I went out of the park then, and saw a bit of the fireworks as I did so.

Highlights:

  • Getting almost all of Fantasyland done.
  • The Adventures of Winnie the Pooh – Jack wanted to go on that one again too.
  • Meeting Eeyore.
  • Jack’s reaction to the Matterhorn. “We went fast!”
  • The Haunted Mansion.
  • Finally getting to Tom Sawyer Island.
Tell me what you think

