Star Trek

(originally published on LiveJournal)

So, this is the last time I’m going to mention that I know Zachary Quinto (aka Young Spock). He was one of my Computing Skills Workshop students. He was also a classmate for a semester in some of the CFA classes I took. And I swear, I am not making this story up:

One day in CSW class, a couple of people were talking about how much Zach looked like Spock, and we all agreed that he should play young Spock.

12 years later…

So yeah. This is the first time that I’ve seen someone I actually know and interacted with – on however limited a basis – has been in a real movie. And I found myself watching in sort of the same way that I do plays when my friends are in them. I was comparing the character to the real person, and just overall enjoying that the person was good.

And Zach was good. I really think most of the cast was good, though I didn’t care for Pike. Oh, and why did they add the reptile equivalent of an Ewok?

I’m also not sure how I feel about what is essentially a reboot of the Star Trek franchise. I’m not a big fan of time travel in general. I think the only stories that have done it well are Quantum Leap (at least, in the first 4 seasons) and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Apparently, there will be more movies. If they’re done well, then OK. See, I liked the first season of Enterprise. Then, they tried to create a new reality and failed, big time. The movies need follow their own trajectory, and don’t preoccupy themselves with being Star Trek.

I think my favorite part may have been Kirk’s reaction to Spock and Uhura making out. I think I might make that my new desktop for awhile, because that was just hilarious!

Tell me what you think

