I Swear He Said Freckle

One of Jack’s favorite books is What a Family!, which is a story about the similarities in relatives. Maggie has freckles, just like her cousins Angela, Angelo, Britt, Rosie, and Ollie. Jack asked, “What’s a freckle?”. I pointed to my eye and said, “Mommy has a freckle here, and on her arms.” Jack was fascinated. He said, “Jack have freckle?”. And I had to say no, Jack didn’t have freckles. He was kind of bummed.

Jack has gotten into Band-Aids. We have Spiderman Band-Aids and Pooh bear band-aids. Any type of boo boo requires a Band-Aid. He pointed to his knee and said, “I got a boo-boo. I need Band-Aid.” I said, “No Jack, that’s not a boo boo. That’s a freckle.” “Freckle?!?! I have freckle!”.

So, he’s very happy that he has one freckle. Today, he was wearing only a diaper for awhile, and while walking up the stairs, I noticed that he had another similar freckle on his bum. I told Jack, “You have a freckle on your bum.” He said, “I got a freckle on my bum!”. Then he said, “Sing the freckle song.” I said, “There’s a freckle song?” He started singing, “Freckle freckle freckle freckle…”

Except, he’s two, so he doesn’t really have the “fr” down yet.

So what it sounded like was “fuckle fuckle fuckle”.

I just can’t wait for him to do that in day care.

Tell me what you think

