I Don't Want to Forget

I’ve been thinking recently about all the little things that I forget. I’ve been working on journaling Jack’s baby book. (OK, books – 4 to be exact. From pre-birth to his 1st Birthday Party. Anyway…) There were times when I was great about writing – either here or on paper. Then, there are times when there’s nothing. Basically, from October 24, 2006 until his birthday, then from birthday, it’s all sporadic. So, I’ve decided to write a bit, even though it’s late, about what I don’t want to forget.
Tonight, Jack and I went Kick Kick for the first time in a month. It was a lovely evening for it. Jack was a little fish daredevil, which I think is great. I don’t want him to fear water, at least not when a parent is around. He was jumping around, “swim”ming, blowing bubbles, tilting his head back into the water. At one point, he accidentally swam underwater. I think he went to jump and to tilt back at the same time. Anyway, he didn’t freak out or cry – just sputtered and held on to me for a minute or two.

He has so many new words each day! He’ll actually say words when you ask, “Can you say?” like, Pomegranate. It sounds a lot like pomegranate. He doesn’t miss a trick, and is so clued in to what’s going on. He knows most of his books by title and cover. Like “More Baby” and “Swee Mimi”. He’s just a little knowledge sponge. And yes, I am totally getting overbearing about it.

Today, Jack was a VERY GOOD BOY. He only threw 2 mini fits. Well, and when he woke up and Daddy wasn’t here (long story), he cried. But he missed Daddy. The first fit was, after we found the garbage man, we went to walk ahead of him. Jack couldn’t see the truck and started kicking in his stroller. But I stopped and turned his head so he could see. The garbage man, such a nice guy, actually waited for us to get to where we could see him pick up the trash every time he turned a corner. I gotta call the number and say this guy deserves a raise. The second fit was when I asked him to climb onto the stool to wash his hands. He just didn’t want to do it.

He ate well, and didn’t throw any of his food on the floor. This is an amazing accomplishment. He learned a new sign (school). (I never wrote down when he signed his first sign. I just know it was “more” and a few days before Christmas.) He didn’t go down for a nap for me, but he didn’t complain either. Then Max came home and was able to put him down pretty easily. He went in for his bath without too much trouble, and was all about snuggling up and having me sing him to sleep tonight.

OK. I have to go. I should add that Jack’s friend Keegan now has a little sister, born today. Yay!

Yucky Trash, Front

Yucky Trash, Back

Tell me what you think

