Bad Mommy

I am having a bad Mommy day. Or days, really. Jack is flip-flopping between taking 1 long nap and 2 short naps per day.  With one exception, I have not been able to get him to sleep for a nap. Max has, but not me. I even did what Max said he did, and Jack still ended up crying angrily for 20 minutes before finally falling to sleep, exhausted. I saw him do that, because I came up to get him, but he didn’t hear me. He was lying in his crib, on his side, and it was so obvious he was fighting with sleep. He needed the nap; it’s not just that I wanted to eat lunch or figure out why the bank thinks we didn’t pay our mortgage when their own system says we did. He’s a bear if he doesn’t sleep. But maybe it is selfish of me to want to make him get the sleep he needs just so life will be easier later. I just thought we had gotten into a routine that worked again. I was really liking the go to sleep at 11am, wake up 2-3 hours later, have a day of fun, then bedtime. When he takes 2 naps, it’s hard to sandwich stuff between them. And today my dad came over to garden, so we couldn’t leave the house to go grocery shopping. We are out of real food for Jack (we have plenty of jars), and out of any nutritious food for me. Our Girl Scout cookies are sitting on my friend’s porch, and I have a prescription that I need to pick up before Sunday anyway.
It doesn’t help that, while we were awake, I was trying to put away laundry. Laundry is a constant event in our house. First, there’s the gathering (which Max does). Then there’s the sorting, which I do while telling Jack “Don’t eat the laundry! It’s dirty!”. Then there’s the figuring out the load order (my pants, Jack’s pants, Max’s socks, towels, etc.) and the putting into laundry baskets, which are then stacked and put behind a gate so Jack won’t eat anything. This process generally takes 2 days. Next, there’s the doing of the laundry (me, but Max will do it if I put post-its on the loads; I’m picky that way). This process takes 2 days, sometimes 3. Then there’s the folding (me or Max), done while watching TiVo. This takes 1 day. Then, there’s the putting away.
(4 hours elapses…)
Right, the putting away. That takes anywhere from 1 to 4 days. So, there are constantl laundry baskets congregated in at least 2-3 rooms in the house. So, today, I wanted to be pro-active. I decided to put all of Jack’s laundry away. Jack decided that while I was doing that, instead of playing with his numerous toys, rocking on the chair, or pulling all the books off the shelf, he was going to unplug everything, pull all the books off the shelf in the closet (the real books, like the Harry Potter Series, which he pulled onto his head), and take all the laundry that I just put in the drawer and take it out of the drawer, flinging it around the room.
Consequently, I was constantly saying “No!” to Jack all afternoon.
Then, my father came, and this nap time struggle happened. He woke up at 4:40, only half an hour after he went to sleep. He wanted to read books, which we did. I realized that I was just short of patience today. I really woke up on the wrong side of the bed or something, because everything that Jack was doing was bugging me.
Part of it may be the fact that nothing that needed to get done today got done. We still do not have real food, I didn’t get to the cookies, and I’ll have to deal with my prescription tomorrow. We did get to go “kick kick” in the hot tub, but we didn’t get to go to the park, which is something I like to do on coolish warm days like today.
Max ended up coming home instead of working late, and while I gave Jack a bath, he decided he would put Jack to bed. Which is where they are right now. And I’m headed to Trader Joe’s and to my friend’s house, hoping that her neighbors won’t think I’m a prowler casing the place.
Everybody has those days…

Tell me what you think

