Catching Up

I am currently catching up on email from April. I have decided to place anything of interest in this one post, then I do not have to write email to everyone I know.
I’m not lazy, I’m just a person who can only get things done when the baby is asleep.

People ask about work, and if I like being at home with Jack. Well, I really miss working with the people at NEDC. Jack is GREAT and I enjoy being an SAHM, but I have to admit, when Max asks me questions about XML and FrameMaker, I get so happy and excited. I know, I need help. I like using that part of my brain; it doesn’t happen often enough.

How did Stephen Colbert get to be the speaker at the White House Correspondents’ Dinner? I love this stuff!
– What’s Britannica to tell me the Panama Canal was built in 1914. If I want to say it was built in 1941, that’s my right as an American. I’m with the president, let history decide what did or did not happen.
– If anything, they are rearranging the deck chairs on the Hindenburg.
– It’s like boxing a glacier. Enjoy that metaphor, because your grandchildren will have no idea what a glacier is.

Jack is in the 2-3% of weight and not on the chart at all for height. (His birthparents are both short.) He has a large head though.

He’s finally begun napping on a somewhat regular schedule. If by regular, you accept that he sleeps once somewhere between 9 and 12 and then again somewhere between 12 and 4. Planning is very difficult under this schedule, but we’re getting more done and he’s a happier little guy. One week ago yesterday (Sunday) he began to sprout teeth. He has two rising ripples of solid teeth. And his favorite teething toys: His parents’ fingers. OW!

We’re delaying or not doing a lot of the vaccines, but we did decide to get the HiB shot. Max had to take Jack, because of my severe needlephobia.

We had professional pictures done a few weeks ago, and they were SOOOO expensive. We got the sitting for free through the MOMS Club, so we went. Jack was insanely fussy, then ended up falling into a deep sleep. We didn’t think any of the pictures would turn out, so we decided we just weren’t going to buy any. Unfortunately, a lot of them did look very nice, so I ordered as few as I could, while having enough for us, the grandparents, greatgrandparents, and birthmother.

We go to Missouri at the end of the month to finalize Jack’s adoption (8/25), stay in MO for 2 days, fly to Pittsburgh to see Max’s family and friends. Max’s parents are having a party for Jack. We’re in Pittsburgh for 2 days, then we come back home. I’m so looking forward to the new airline restrictions on liquids.

Jack does actually sing, but he only does it for me and only when he doesn’t think I’m listening. Really. He’s going aaahhh aaahhh or laaa laaa or some combination, with a slightly musical tone.

Jack pulled Sassy’s tail yesterday, so today he was not allowed to be too close to her. Sassy has been very patient with Jack in the last week or so. I think she’s beginning to understand that he’s another person who adores her. Unfortunately, Jack doesn’t pet, he grabs. Sometimes, this is all right, as she likes to be scratched, and that’s what gentle grabbing kind of is. I try to show him how to pet, by petting him, by holding his hand to pet Sassy. Still, he is fascinated by her tail and tries to grab it whenever it gets close, which isn’t often.

I’m glad that the weather is settling down. I couldn’t take Jack out for walks. He did have swimming lessons though. He’s so cute! He enjoyed the water, and I want to take him to the pool on my own, now that I know what to expect, how to handle him in the water, and all that important water safety information. Today, we went to the park and swung. He didn’t want the baby swings, though. Nope. He had to sit on my lap on the big kid swings, which weren’t made for moms, even short ones like me. But it was fun all the same.

My friend Wendy said” I’m finding that even when I have “time to myself” it’s not really “time for myself” and I’m sure you’re experiencing the same phenomenon.

EXACTLY! I finally told Max, that I have exactly one hour each day to get work done, and that he needs to “come home from work”. Because he works from home, he’s always working. (Or playing computer games and reading humor sites.) I’ve been better about asking him for help this past week, and I have told him that he will be taking Jack for a few hours on Sundays, specifically so I can get scrapbooking done. I really enjoy it, and was able to finish about 6 pages yesterday.

I’m constantly reading parenting stuff. I took a break to read The DaVinci Code. So not worth it. I have several books going: What to Expect the First Year, The Baby Book (both of which I read parts of each month), and I’m Chocolate, You’re Vanilla, about raising children and race awareness. Next up: Scrapbooking for Profit and The Safe Baby (about baby-proofing, which Max is doing some of this week).

My cousin Mandi won Miss Teen Vacaville 2006!

Tell me what you think

