Gay Marriage Again

Going back into the drafts folder for today’s post. Recently, an appeals court struck down Utah’s same sex marriage ban. The state plans to appeal, meaning that “gay marriage” might go to the Supreme Court again. I found this wonderful set of pictures from the last time same sex marriage made its way to the Supremes.

Some of these pics are hilarious,but at the same time, they make me want to cry.

“Claiming that someone else’s marriage is against your religion is like being angry at someone for eating a donut because you’re on a diet.” I mean, that’s just plain funny. And true.

But then there’s the picture of the woman holding a sign with her cats asking the Supreme Court to recognize their “human mommyies’ marriage” and the adorable guy “Jesus hung out with 12 guys and a prostitute. He is closer to me than you, I think.” and a black guy with, “Don’t be on the wrong side of history again.” They’re all right and they all make me cry.

It honestly never occurred to me that two people of the same sex couldn’t get married, until I read that Hawaii was recognizing civil unions. Even though I never knew any married gay people growing up, I did know gay people growing up, and I never thought much about why I didn’t know anyone who was gay and married. But then, I knew. It was against the law. For no good reason.

And that makes me sad. I’m actually sitting here crying. I’m not even gay! But it pisses me off that people who are gay aren’t given equal treatment. It makes me sad that there are people who have been together longer than my parents were, and are happy to boot, who can’t get married. Who have to hold signs in front of government buildings hoping some people in black robes will realize that gay marriage bans are just as wrong as interracial marriage bans.

Why, oh why, can’t we all just get along and let people be?

2 thoughts on “Gay Marriage Again

  1. Thank you for posting this; I hadn’t seen those amazing photos before. Hilarious and made me cry too. I’m definitely going to share those out.

    And thank you for linking to my blog in your BlogHer roundup! You’ll be in mine as well. :)

Tell me what you think

